Mashed Poetics presents No Doubt’s Tragic Kingdom tonight!

Sarah Jickling The Oh Wells photo

Sarah Jickling of The Oh Wells will do her best Gwen Stefani when she helps cover No Doubt songs Friday night. Here she is performing with her band The Oh Wells at the Cobalt, Vancouver, Nov 26 2011. Photo credit: Robyn Hanson

Is No Doubt’s Tragic Kingdom truly a breakthrough album? Is it a classic? Is it deserving of a full-on live tribute?

Although the merits of the record that introduced SoCal pop-ska favourites No Doubt to the world are debatable (remember “Just a Girl”?), a Vancouver collective is taking on the 1995 (!) release with a mix of music and poetry.

In the ongoing Mashed Poetics series, local poets write new works based on songs from a specific album and perform them the night of the show. In this case, a group of local poets will be writing pieces based on songs from the No Doubt album Tragic Kingdom.

No Doubt Tragic Kingdom album cover

The poets will recite in between the songs, as covered by a pick-up group called The Different People.

The Different People includes vocalist Sarah Jickling (of Vancouver band The Oh Wells) and bassist Clint Wilson.  The lead guitarist calls him-(or her-)self Spillious the Ridiculous and the whole shebang takes place this Friday Jan 25 at the Kozmik Zoo at 53 W Broadway. Show at 9 p.m., cover charge is $10.

Here’s the full lineup of poets at the 13th Mashed Poetics/No Doubt’s Tragic Kingdom:

Fortunate Sonya – “Spiderwebs”
Ivan Penaluna – “Excuse Me Mr.”
Timothy Shay – “Just a Girl”
Julie C. Peters – “Happy Now”
RC Weslowski – “Different People”
Daniela Elza  – “Hey You”
Susan Cormier – “The Climb”
Enrico Renz – “Sixteen”
Leah Horlick – “Sunday Morning”
Ben Rawluk – “Don’t Speak”
Kyle Mallinson – “You Can Do It”
Shannon Rayne – “World Go Round”
Lee Cannon-Browne – “End it on This”
Sebastien Wen – “Tragic Kingdom”


Tagged: , , , ,

Comments are closed for this post

Comments are closed.