More Free Outdoor Movies in Vancouver

3rd ANNUAL OUTDOOR MOVIE NIGHT IN YALETOWN-photos by Ron Sombilon Gallery & PacBlue Printing (153)

The outdoor movie craze has certainly caught on in Vancouver.  Throughout the month of August, free movies projected on giant temporary screens will be shown nearly every single evening at dusk at parks and public spaces in and around the city.

You can catch everything from classics like ET in Stanley Park (Aug. 2) and Citizen Kane in Olympic Village (Aug. 25) to more recent blockbusters like Men in Black at Robson Square (Aug. 22) and Justin Bieber: Never Say Never at Holland Park in Surrey (Aug. 27).  I’ve pasted a complete list of outdoor movies showing in August below (compiled by Eugene Sayson at Vancouver Community College). As far as I know, they’re all free.

PANOS-3rd ANNUAL OUTDOOR MOVIE NIGHT IN YALETOWN-photos by Ron Sombilon Gallery & PacBlue Printing (2)_

So what’s behind this outdoor movie mania?  I think it taps into some of the nostalgia and appeal of the old drive-in movies.  As opposed to being cooped up in an air-conditioned theatre, you get to experience all the beauty of Vancouver’s rare, warm summer evenings.  You bring a blanket and load up the cooler with snacks and drinks. And as the sky turns dark, the screen comes to life.

Of course, there’s also a big social element that you miss out on in a traditional theatre.  There’s the chance to hang out and interact with friends, chatting during the inevitable lulls in the film.  And there’s also a strong community feel.   You’re surrounded by hundreds and sometimes thousands of other people, all watching the same movie and having the same experience.  It’s actually a great way to get to know your neighbours.

The only thing missing is the movie popcorn.

Here’s the list.  Apologies for the clunky formatting.  You can also find films listed on the Free Outdoor Movies Facebook Page (Actually, it’s probably a good idea to double check on the official site for last-minute changes).

Mon., August 1:  Mary Poppins at Robson Square, 800 Hornby St., Vancouver, BC
Tues., August 2: ET at Ceperley Park, 8701 Stanley Park Dr., Vancouver, BC Bring a donation for the Food Bank.
Thurs., August 4: Rio at Harris Road Park, 12460 Harris Rd., Pitt Meadows, BC
Thurs., August 4: Inception at The Village on False Creek, Vancouver, BC
Fri., August 5: Iron Man at Dennison Park, 755 53 St., Delta, BC
Fri., August 5: Toy Story 3 at Fraser Heights Recreation Centre, 10588 160 St.,        Surrey,BC
Sat., August 6: Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2 at Holland Park, King George Blvd. & Old Yale Rd., Surrey, BC
Sat., August 6: Toy Story at Diefenbaker Park, 5579 1 Ave., Tsawwassen, BC
Sun., August 7: Rio at Lynn Valley Park, 3361 Mountain Hwy., North Vancouver, BC
Mon., August 8: The Muppet Movie at Robson Square, 800 Hornby St., Vancouver, BC
Tues., August 9: Jaws at Ceperley Park, 8701 Stanley Park Dr., Vancouver, BC
Bring a donation for the Food Bank.
Wed., August 10: Rio at Coquitlam Centre, 2929 Barnet Hwy., Coquitlam, BC
Thurs., August 11: Avatar at Morgan Crossing, 15827-15843 Croydon Dr., Surrey, BC
Thurs., August 11: Casablanca at The Village on False Creek, Vancouver, BC
Fri., August 12: Grease at Harbour Green Park, 480 Broughton St., Vancouver, BC
Fri., August 12: TBD at North Delta Community Park, 11311 84 Ave., Delta, BC
Sat., August 13: Ramona & Beezus at Holland Park, King George Blvd. & Old Yale Rd., Surrey, BC
Sat., August 13: Ghostbusters at Cloverdale Millennium Amphitheatre, 6386 176 St., Surrey, BC
Sat., August 13: Jab We Met at Jack Poole Plaza, 1055 Canada Place, Vancouver, BC
Sun., August 14: Rio at Swangard Stadium, Kingsway and Boundary Rd., Burnaby, BC
Sun., August 14: TBD, Fisherman‘s Park, Moncton St. and 3 Ave., Richmond, BC
Mon., August 15: Toy Story at Robson Square, 800 Hornby St., Vancouver, BC
Tues., August 16: Pretty Woman at Ceperley Park, 8701 Stanley Park Dr., Vancouver, BC Bring a donation for the Food Bank.
Wed., August 17: Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian at Coquitlam Centre, 2929 Barnet Hwy., Coquitlam, BC
Thurs., August 18: The Fighter, The Village on False Creek, Vancouver, BC
Sat., August 20: Tangled at Holland Park, King George Blvd. & Old Yale Rd., Surrey, BC
Sat., August 20: How to Train Your Dragon at Tsawwassen Town Centre Mall, 1299A 56th St., Delta, BC
Sun., August 21: The Italian Job at David Lam Park, Pacific Blvd., Vancouver, BC
Mon., August 22: Men in Black at Robson Square, 800 Hornby St., Vancouver, BC
Tues., August 23: Back to the Future at Ceperley Park, 8701 Stanley Park Dr., Vancouver, BC  Bring a donation for the Food Bank
Wed., August 24: Megamind at Coquitlam Centre, 2929 Barnet Hwy., Coquitlam, BC
Thurs., August 25: Citizen Kane at The Village on False Creek, Vancouver, BC
Fri., August 26: Rio at Unwin Park, 13313 68 Ave., Surrey, BC
Sat., August 27: Justin Bieber: Never Say Never at Holland Park, King George Blvd. & Old Yale Rd., Surrey, BC
Sun., August 28: TBD at Confederation Park, Burnaby, BC
Sun., August 28: TBD at Fisherman‘s Park, Moncton St. & 3 Ave., Richmond, BC
Mon., August 29: Finding Nemo at Robson Square, 800 Hornby St., Vancouver, BC
Tues., August 30: Stand by Me at Ceperley Park, 8701 Stanley Park Dr., Vancouver, BC Bring a donation for the Food Bank.

Anybody been to an outdoor movie in Vancouver?  How was it?  Please share feedback below.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed for this post

7 Responses to More Free Outdoor Movies in Vancouver